Always Traditional

Kshetra Boutique Retreat acclaimed as the finest luxury heritage resort in India, nestles on the serene shore  of the Varakala beach, the vast stretch of tranquil, emerald green Arabian Sea, in one of India’s popular holiday spots, Kerala. Sprawling across 38 acres of lush greenery and set in soul-stirring ambience, building constructed area 15,000 sq ft .Kshetra  boutique Retreat is the only ISO and ANM certified in varkala.Leading Resort for 10 years, exudes the charm of Kerala’s true heritage while offering a complete range of New Age amenities for a luxuriously comfortable stay. Luxury-laden rooms and suites; the Ayurveda Spa; green courtyard; vegan and vegetarian restaurants;  and countless other attractions in and around the resort offer you the simple luxuries of life, in the grandeur of the royalty of yore. Kshetra means temple in Sanskrit. A piece of land marked off from common uses and assigned as an official domain, especially to a king,chief, or god. A sacred circle where one can be oneself without fear. Kshetra is constructed under the ancient architecture of India known as ‘ nallu kettu ‘. Nallu kettu  : The traditional homestead of old Tharavadu where many generations of a matrilineal family lived. These types of buildings are typically found in the Indian state of Kerala. The traditional architecture is typically a rectangular structure where four halls are joined together with a central courtyard open to the sky. The four halls on the sides are named Vadakkini (northern block), Padinjattini (western block),Kizhakkini(eastern block) and Thekkini (southern block). The architecture was especially catered to large families of the traditional tharavadu, to live under one roof and enjoy the commonly owned facilities of the  marumakkathayam homestead. Thatchu Shasthra, or the Science of Carpentry and Traditional Vasthu, was the governing science in this architectural form. This branch of knowledge was well developed in the traditional architecture of Kerala and has created its own branch of literature known under the names of Tantrasamuchaya, Vastuvidya,Manushyalaya-Chandrika, and Silparatna. The layout of these homes is simple, and catered to the dwelling of the large number of people usually part of a tharavaadu. Ettukettu (eight halled with two central courtyards) or Pathinarukettu (sixteen halled with four central courtyards) are the more elaborate forms of the same architecture. Every structure faces the sunlight, and in some well designed naalukettu, there is excellent ventilation. Temperatures, even in the heat of summer, are markedly lower within the naalukettu. Khestra is strictly build under keen observation of Vastu shastra Vastu shastra : (vāstu śāstra) is a traditional Hindu system of architecture which literally translates to “science of architecture.” These are texts found on the Indian subcontinent that describe principles of design, layout, measurements, ground preparation, space arrangement, and spatial geometry.Vastu Shastras incorporate traditional Hindu and in some cases Buddhist beliefs. The designs are intended to integrate architecture with nature, the relative functions of various parts of the structure, and ancient beliefs utilizing geometric patterns (yantra), symmetry, and directional alignments. Vastu Shastra are the textual part of Vastu Vidya, the latter being the broader knowledge about architecture and design theories from ancient India. Vastu Vidya knowledge is a collection of ideas and concepts, with or without the support of layout diagrams, that are not rigid. Rather, these ideas and concepts are models for the organization of space and form within a building or collection of buildings, based on their functions in relation to each other, their usage and to the overall fabric of the Vastu.Ancient Vastu Shastra principles include those for the design of Mandir (Hindu temples),and the principles for the design and layout of houses, towns, cities, gardens, roads, water works, shops and other public areas. The rooms at kshetra are named under the 27 nakshatras of Hindu astrology. One can choose the rooms with their nakshatra that suits with their birth date and time and place. The rooms are decorated with the color and amienities that suits their birth date .The nakshatras or lunar mansions are 27 equal divisions of the night sky used in Hindu astrology, each identified by its prominent stars. Historical (medieval) Hindu astrology enumerated either 27 or 28 nakṣatras. In modern astrology, a rigid system of 27 nakṣatras is generally used, each covering 13° 20′ of the ecliptic. The missing 28th nakshatra is Abhijeeta. Each nakṣatra is divided into equal quarters or padas of 3° 20′. Of greatest importance is the Abhiśeka Nakṣatra, which is held as king over the other nakṣatras. Worshipping and gaining favour over this nakṣatra is said to give power to remedy all the other nakṣatras, and is of concern in predictive astrology and mitigating Karma. The 27 nakshatras are:

  1. Ashvini
  2. Bharni
  3. Krittika
  4. Rohini
  5. Mrighashirsha
  6. Ardra or Aarudhra
  7. Punarvasu
  8. Pushya
  9. Aslesha
  10. Magha
  11. Purva Phalguni
  12. Uttara Phalguni
  13. Hasta
  14. Chitra
  15. Swati
  16. Vishakha
  17. Anuradha
  18. Jyeshtha
  19. Moola
  20. Purva Ashada
  21. Uttara Ashada
  22. Sravana
  23. Dhanishta
  24. Shatabhishak
  25. Purva bhadrapa
  26. Uttara bhadrapa
  27. Revati